Ooh, Shiny, or Why I Can’t Get Caught Up

If you’ve spent an appreciable amount of time with me (or this blog), you’ve probably heard me complain about having too much to do. Three years ago, I even pleaded for help finding an effective project management tool to help me juggle my life. It didn’t work. I couldn’t even find the time to look at my options. The project still sits in MyLifeOrganized, waiting its turn after 1116 days. My Uncompleted Tasks list now has 2,343 items on it. I think that’s the first time I’ve actually looked at that number, so I’ve not been stressing out about it.

The routine maintenance that keeps my computer running, and the lawn mowed, and the sinks relatively unclogged, it eats a lot of time. I’m even pretty good at checking off boxes in the average week (my Completed list is pretty sizable, too).  But that isn’t the real problem. It’s all the new stuff that software developers and other creative minds keep pumping out that I just have to try out.

Stuff to try

Consider these items in my list:

  • In the last two weeks, I’ve been invited to two brand new social networks, still in beta.You’ve probably heard of one (ello), but probably not Biosgraphy.
  • I also got an invitation to Google Inbox, which I’ve experimented with in the last week.
  • A week ago, I blogged about the just-released Firefox Developer Edition, which I’ve downloaded and installed, but really have yet to try.
  • Nearly forgot about the Google Web Starter Kit
  • You know that my favorite Linux distributions (openSUSE and Ubuntu) released new versions recently.
  • I’ve even installed the Windows 10 Preview, and ran it … twice.
  • Today, I read about OSJourno, a version of Fedora Linux specifically designed for journalists, and I’m dying to try it out.
  • Not too long ago, the folks at GitHub announced a “hackable text editor” called Atom. A couple of weeks ago, they had an alpha version of same for Windows. I’m downloading it now, with the help of a brand-new package manager called Chocolatey. Then I have to check my Linux distros to see if any of them have an Atom build available.
  • Think I mentioned this before, but to round things out, I’m still learning Scrivener with the help of some videos from the Scrivener Coach.

Stuff to Learn

Then there are the tools and technologies I really should learn more about:

  • Simplified markup (Asciidoc, Markdown, Textile). I’m told it takes 10 minutes to learn these commands.
  • Web development languages: JavaScript, Python, PHP and the like
  • My MOOCs: Cryptography, Data Journalism
  • The Learnable course catalog

Yep, it’s definitely time for me to prune the list, but in the meantime, could all you creative people stop making cool new products? Please?

This may be a plea for help. Advice on what to do next, and how to solve these problems are much appreciated. I’m not close to “losing it,” but the time may come.

2 thoughts on “Ooh, Shiny, or Why I Can’t Get Caught Up

  1. Pingback: Lessons from NaBloPoMo 2014 | Michael McCallister: Notes from the Metaverse

  2. Pingback: Coming Attractions | Michael McCallister: Notes from the Metaverse

Comments are closed.