Another Sunday Grab Bag

It’s been a slightly weird weekend, and I don’t have anything specific to talk about. So here are some random thoughts and descriptions.

Storifying the openSUSE Summit

The openSUSE Project logo

The openSUSE Project logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This was fun! I curated every Twitter post and G+ reference to “openSUSE” all weekend, and made a story of it here. Sadly, I wasn’t exactly overwhelmed with tweets to choose from. Perhaps the wi-fi wasn’t that good. I hope next year, they can stream it!

Indirectly, the summit also put me into Twitter a lot more this weekend than in the recent past. Upside: There’s always so much to assimilate, and fun to have.

Monday is the release date for openSUSE 13.1. Watch for the announcement here, and then go get it.

New shoes and jeans

My wife took me shopping yesterday. I think she had more fun. My work shoes have pretty much worn out, so I got a new pair, plus a belt and four pairs of jeans (buy one, get one half-off) at Kohl’s. It had to be done, but it took too long.

Making Real Progress on the book

It’s still not quite ready, because I keep adding things that readers need to know, but my to-do list tells me I’m around 90% done with Chapter 9. Perhaps I’ll finish the app developer chapter in time for the Ubuntu Developers Summit this week!

April in November: Weather in the Midwest

Yes it rained pretty much all weekend here in Milwaukee. Thankfully, we avoided the worst of it (kind thoughts to folks in Illinois and elsewhere with tornadoes and such), but I missed getting to walk outside!

Quite a team that Omidyar and Greenwald are assembling

173

Jay Rosen (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The cast of media reformers that are banding together to create a new media gained another Big Name today: Jay Rosen of New York University and the PressThink blog. I haven’t read this thing through yet, but everything I hear builds my excitement for this project.

Maybe there was something else to talk about, but seems right to quit here. Hope you all had a nice, restful and/or productive weekend.

