NaBloPoMo: What I’ve Learned So Far

NaBloPoMo

NaBloPoMo (Photo credit: udge)

Hey folks, this is the 15th consecutive day of posting here on Notes from the Metaverse! I don’t know if I’ve ever managed to keep up such a pace, but thanks to a spontaneous (and quite rash) decision to take part in National Blog Post Month (NaBloPoMo) two weeks ago, here we are!

So my daily blogging experiment is halfway through the month, and I wanted to pause to consider what I’ve learned in this process, and share the results. If you’re also participating in NaBloPoMo, I’ll be curious to compare notes.

I wake up in the morning thinking of today’s topic

I have planned some posts, and if I do this again next year, I’ll plan more. At the same time, it’s exciting and energizing to look for something new to write about. That’s a really good thing!

People are interested in disasters

I’m not surprised that the three posts about Typhoon Haiyan attracted the most page views this month. Following the first lesson, I will say I am quite proud of the first of those posts, Tracking the Worst Storm Ever. I also want to call your attention to Karen Mardahl’s comment recruiting people to take part in the Open Street Map campaign.

I need (at least) an hour to write posts

Screenshot of WordPress interface (wordpress i...

Screenshot of WordPress editor interface (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is an important lesson: I have been a fast typist, but I’m not a fast writer. Making links takes time too. Have I mentioned that I do this at the end of the day, that I work full-time, and usually get to WordPress around 7PM? Even if I have a good idea, it takes time to get it down here.

Conferences are good for topic ideas

I have said here more than once that I love professional conferences. I would be in heaven if I could take a year off to just travel from Linux conference to WordCamps to technical communication conferences to gatherings of writers — with a speculative fiction con or three to fill the year up. Since I can’t do that yet, I’ll do my best to follow remotely and tell you what I find out. In addition to the openSUSE Summit this weekend, next week is the virtual Ubuntu Developers Summit, which I don’t have to travel to attend (neither do you)!

Fast isn’t necessarily good

It has been said that many novels are written during National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), but no good ones. Every written work needs review and editing. Humans write novels and blog posts, they make mistakes. While there’s nothing here that is really crappy, but in reaching to publish before the witching hour each night, I’m not always doing my best work.

Let me also say that I am not speaking for any other participant (as I haven’t read many other blogger’s posts this month, sad to say).

I haven’t experimented with post types

One thing I suggested I was going to do this month was choose some different post formats, like Links and Quotes. Have to admit that doing something short really feels like cheating. Thursday’s post about the openSUSE conferences may be as close to a short, link-filled post as you’re likely to see.

Nobody cares when I comment on Big Issues of Communication/Information

Even though I am a document/information architect by profession, it never surprises me that hardly anyone reads posts like The Value of Information or my older Doug Engelbart eulogy. Maybe “The Value of Information” is a clunker of a title. The post suffers a little bit from “fast vs good” syndrome. I’ll maintain it addresses important issues (transparency, the future of journalism, and the importance of an informed citizenry), and will occasionally produce more like it. Then again, I’ve read why serious journalism doesn’t always sell on the web.

This pace is unsustainable when I’m writing a book

Remember how I said I was nearly finished with a chapter on 11/2? It’s 13 days later, and I still am nearly finished with that chapter! Will fix that tomorrow, but here we are <sigh>.

So, those are a few things I’ve learned. I hope all is going well with you. I’m sure there will be more things to learn in the remaining half-month. But it’s 11:21pm and I still have to proofread and select an image. Cheers!

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: What I’ve Learned So Far

  1. You’re more organised than me. I’m just glad to be writing everyday, as there’s this book happening here too. I travel a lot, when I can swing it. I have been home for one month, have blogged every day here at NaBloPoMo, and the book is coming along. I think it’s all good. Anyway, good luck!

  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Summing Up | Michael McCallister: Notes from the Metaverse

Comments are closed.