Document Freedom Day — Hail Creative Commons

It’s a little late to be announcing this, but there are a few more hours (at least in the US and points west) in the very first Document Freedom Day. I only heard about this a few days ago, but I like the idea and hope it spreads.

Document Freedom Day follows in the footsteps of Software Freedom Day, and stands for “grassroots action for promotion of Free Document Formats and Open Standards in general,” according to the original announcement.

As my small contribution, I have finally completed a task that’s been festering on my to-do list for something like forever. From this point forward, Notes from the Metaverse appears under a Creative Commons noncommercial-attribution license (see the logo to the right here). What this means is that you can take these words of mine and use them in any way you like, so long as you don’t make money off my work, and quote me properly.

I owe a lot to the open-source community, and recognize that this small token represents a commitment to giving back to that community.

