Book Excerpt: Usenet Newsreaders for Linux

Linux.com was kind enough to post an excerpt from openSUSE Linux Unleashed on Usenet newsreaders for Linux.

I have to admit I was a little surprised when the Sams publicist emailed me with the site’s interest in this piece. This is one of the elements I considered leaving out of the second edition. Usenet is one of the oldest components of the Internet; only email itself is older. A friend said he’d thought Usenet was pretty much only good for reading spam and downloading pirated software and pictures not suited for family newspapers. But I’ve been wrong before.

In any case, there are some fine Usenet newsreaders for Linux, and most distributions (not just openSUSE) have them. Check out the story, and let me know if you’re still on Usenet and what you use.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One thought on “Book Excerpt: Usenet Newsreaders for Linux

Comments are closed.