openSUSE Beta and Book News

It’s been a big week or so for new releases: Firefox 2.0, OpenOffice 2.04, KOffice 1.6, KDE 3.5.5, GNOME 2.1.6, Fedora Core 6, and by gosh there was another browser that rev’d recently too … oh, yeah! Internet Explorer 7.

Now certainly you could download and install all of these yummy new bits of software (and I certainly have), but why not get all the best stuff all at once with openSUSE Beta 1, released on Thursday! I haven’t quite got this installed (my ancient test machine doesn’t like the CDs I’ve downloaded to), but I’ve played with a couple of the alphas, and it’s shaping up quite nicely.

Which brings me to my own news: while details are not yet fully worked out, it appears that I’ll be doing a major update of SUSE Linux 10 Unleashed over the next couple months. We’re going to fix the Multimedia chapter, upgrade all the things that people complained about the first edition, add whatever new goodies from the new version that we can, and have it available quite early next year. Not quite in time for the 10.2 release, but close enough that it will be more than relevant. This, of course, means I’ll be cloistered and turning out copy for the remainder of the year, and posting here may actually dip (but one never knows, I suppose).

But even though it’s getting to be old news, I still have a few things to report to y’all from BarCamp, and I fully intend to do so in the next day or so.

Technorati Tags: , ,

